Cheapest car insurance in NY

Cheap Car Insurance

Cheap Car Insurance

As per law the minimum car insurance required in New York state is $50000 personal injury protection, $25000 bodily injury liability cover per person, and $25000 uninsured bodily injury cover, and $10000 property damage liability cover. While this is the bare minimum required for you to drive legally, you have a lot of options to extend the amounts and covers. While some of us simply renew our existing policy for auto cover, there are some smart consumers that check the insurance market each year and save money by opting for the best company at the cheapest price. Most consumers request free auto insurance quotes online and compare the various companies to zero in on cheapest car insurance in NY. There are several insurance comparison sites that make this task easy and quick.

 

If you have recently moved to the Empire state, there may be additional homework to be done, before checking out insurance companies for auto cover. There are some things you must know. Most of us are aware that in theUS, most state laws in concern with insurance vary. Thus, you may want to read up on NY insurance laws to get a better idea of what covers you need and what you can do without or add on in case you feel they are important. For instance, unlike many other states in the country, there are no permanent license plates in NY. This means that plates issued at the time of registration have to be returned to the state Department of Motor Vehicles, as soon as your insurance coverage lapses. Another rule is that the liability insurance should be in the same name as the registration of the car. These two cannot be different, unless for a driver that is under twenty one. In this case the driver, living at home can be carried on a parent’s policy. However, even in such cases the insurance card IDs are still issued in the driver’s name provided the car is registered with him.

 

Another detail you must know if you have recently moved to the state is that car insurance is required to be bought by an in-state company or an out-of-state company that is licensed to provide insurance in New York. Note that insurance carried by unlicensed companies are invalid in the state can result in a suspension of your license as well as registration. Once you know about the rules and laws of insurance laws, you can move on to finding a reputable insurer to provide you with the cheapest car insurance in NY. Rest assured that you will have plenty of choices in all aspects and end up buying the best option available on the market.