Involved in an accident and DUI Texas

Accidents are now commonplace among every one of us. A big percentage encounters this misfortune every so often that has called the attention of the government in strictly implementing rules to counter accidents. Most accidents happen on the roads. This is all the more triggered by drivers heavily or even lightly intoxicated with alcohol.

The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration in all of Northern America is 0.08%. Despite this fact, there are still a lot who indulge in heavy drinking not realizing that it would only take a few seconds for the alcohol in our bloodstream to impair our judgment. This would result into a disastrous road mishap a few minutes later. Even those who had only a bottle of beer or only a glass of wine before heading out are not spared from the possibility of bloody accidents.

When you get caught Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Influenced by alcohol or commonly tagged as DUI/DWI, you are in for a serious driving violation which could drag you into financial and legal consequences.

When you have been drinking within Texas borders, even if the alcohol content in your blood won’t reach 0.08%, chances are, you will still be pulled over by a Texan police officer to execute liquor tests on you ensuring the safety of other people on the road and yours.

A series of tests will be done to you like the field sobriety DUI test, horizontal eye test by an officer for drinking and driving, walk and turn DUI test, and the one-leg stand drinking and driving test. These are generally physical tests to know how far have your stupor engulfed your body and balance system. After such physical tests comes the Breathalyzer test, where you are requested to breathe into the Breathalyzer tool, and it automatically computes your blood and alcohol level. When you fail in all tests, you will be read your rights, arrested and detained in jail until such time that somebody will bail you out.

Punishments for being given a DUI ticket will be dependent on the severity of any damage that resulted to such incident and the number of similar offenses you have made as well. However, the following will be included in your sentence:

The first time offender in Texas is required to pay the fine of $2,000 while repeaters pay $4,000.

Your license to drive will be revoked for a total of a year when you are a first time offender.

This incident will signal your insurance provider to increase your premium.

First time offenders will be subjected to a 12-hour DUI education course while repeat offenders on parole are required to complete a 30-day rehabilitation program.

You are required to perform community service of not more than 50 hours.

You are also required to purchase a Breathalyzer interlock device to be placed on your car that is programmed to let you breathe into it every time you go out to drive. Failure to this test would mean locking the ignition and not letting you drive for a period of 24 hours.

With these punishments ready at hand, you should now be able to foster a responsible attitude in driving.